Day 103 Why diet deviations?

Day 103  Wednesday, May 19, 2010  Weight:  173.0

Quote:  “People can heal themselves with the support of other people.” – Phyllis Rose Carroll about the sucess of AA and Al-Anon.  Context:  I went to one AA meeting to see how they support each other and was just amazed at how powerful their process is.

Tips from friends:  Prashanth Banuru says the poor workers in India eat Ragi in soup or as a flour and make paratas and rohtis out of various seeds that are small and nutritious.

Comment:  I ate almost enough to sustain yesterday but lost 1.2 lbs.  Is my body reducing muscle content?  Does bone content drop as the body’s weight drops?  Those bone osteoclasts and osteoblasts are busy all the time sculpting bone by building up and tearing down.  I wonder.

Why diet deviations?  Is it driven by memories of the joy of tasting something or is it driven at a deeper level?  I deviated in small ways yesterday.  Here are the details:

  1. Ate literally 1/10th oz of brownie.  Why?  I don’t know.  My body liked it but I didn’t take any more.  That’s a sign that the craving dragon is still locked away.
  2. Ate three little pieces of Gouda cheese, less than 1 oz, maybe because they were on my pathway but maybe because I wanted/needed something.  I don’t know.

Food:

Breakfast:  1/3 cup oatmeal – 50, 1 poached egg – 90, 5 oz various fruit – 60, coffee.  total – 200.

Lunch: 3 oz salmon – 175, 1 oz berries – 12.  Total – 186

Snack:  2.65 oz pork chop – 105, 1 oz berries – 12, 1/2 oz – mixed nuts – 90.  Total – 207

Dinner:  4 oz Sweet Potato – 80, 3 oz pork chop – 120. Total – 200.

Snack:  2 oz mixed nuts and seeds and granola – 340.

Total 5/18/2010 = 1,133 calories.

Leave a Reply

