Day 26 Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Breakfast:  Bowl of Rice Krispies

Lunch:  Piece of home baked bread and 1/2 of a hot link sliced up with mustard and relish.  Tasted good!

Late afternoon snack:  2 1 oz. cinnamon cookies that Sara had baked today.

Microwaved Pinto beans:

  • Last night I left soaking 3 cups of pinto beans in about 6 cups of water.
  • This afternoon I drained the water from them.
  • 1/2 tsp salt in 6 cups water heated in Microwave for 10 minutes.
  • Added the beans and cooked for 16 minutes at full power.
  • Set the microwave to half power and cooked for another 20 minutes.
  • (really I messed up this one up because I didn’t do as above and the beans took a lot longer to cook because I let the water cook in between full and half power cooking)
  • this made a lot of beans.  I won’t use so many next time.

My EatSmart food weighing scale arrived and it’s really nice.  To weigh food in a bowl try this:

  1. turn it on by pushing the ON/TARE/OFF button
  2. Wait until it reads zero.
  3. put an empty dish on it
  4. after it stabilizes push the  ON/TARE/OFF button once again
  5. The scale will now read zero.
  6. put your food into the dish and see the weight directly.  No subtraction needed.
  7. turn the scale off.

I made this dish (don’t know the total calories:

  • 4 oz cooked beans  180 calories
  • 2 oz barbecue sauce
  • 2 oz leftover simulated crab meat (Pollack fish).

I started to give Blackie a bone and realized I had no idea by weight how it relates to his morning meal.  I weighed a cup of his kibbles and was surprized that it was only about four ounces.  So in the morning he gets:

  • 4 oz corn meal etc. kibbles
  • 6-1/2 oz. canned meat

Throughout the day he gets a bone or two at a time:  1.25 oz each.  He probably gets six a day.  That’s only another 7.5 oounces.  It’s not a lot.  I don’t know how many calories this is.  He maintains his weight and is fourteen years old (and is indeed overweight by a bit).

I just made a few slices of meat and cheese and heated in the Mu for 38 seconds.  4.5 oz.  Gave Blackie a bone and quarter cup of kibbles.

Leave a Reply

